Whitefish Bay Students Win CNN Documentary Contest

Patch.com: C-SPAN announced today that students from Whitefish Bay High School in Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, are winners in C-SPAN’s national 2018 StudentCam competition.

Will Foote and James Dyer are first-prize winners and will receive $3,000 for their documentary, “WI Votes Count?,” about gerrymandering and the 14th Amendment Equal Protection Clause. This documentary will air on C-SPAN at 6:50 a.m. ET and throughout the day on April 20.

Patricia Mathu, Emma Mitchell and Jong Jung are third-prize winners and will receive $750 for their documentary, “Neither Snow Nor Rain,” about the Postal Clause.

Each year since 2006, C-SPAN partners with its local cable television providers in communities nationwide to invite middle school students (grades 6-8) and high school students (grades 9-12) to produce short documentaries about a subject of national importance. This year students addressed the theme, “The Constitution & You: Choose a provision of the U.S. Constitution and create a video illustrating why it’s important to you.”

Read the complete article on the Whitefish Bay students’ award-winning documentary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.